Contact Us | Home   

The Lower Mississippi River Watershed Management Organization (LMRWMO) is located in the southeast part of the Twin Cities metropolitan area, in northern Dakota County and southern Ramsey County. The LMRWMO abuts the south and west sides of the Mississippi River, from the Mississippi River’s confluence with the Minnesota River to Rosemount. Adjacent watershed management organizations (WMOs) include Eagan-IGH WMO, Lower Minnesota River Watershed District, and the Vermillion River JPO.

The LMRWMO covers 35,493 acres (55.8 square miles) and is composed of seven cities partially or wholly within the organization’s boundaries. The LMRWMO member cities are: Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul. Surface water in the LMRWMO ultimately discharges to the Mississippi River.

Register for the Landscaping for Clean Water Program 

2011 Watershed Management Plan - 2015 Amendment

Watershed Restoration and Protection Study 

Self Guided Driving Tour

Thompson Lake Water Quality Improvement Project The LMRWMO secured a $576,000 Clean Water Fund grant for stormwater improvements at Thompson Lake in West St. Paul as part of the Thompson Lake Restoration. Read more about the project at the link above.

View up to date photos of Thompson Lake construction progress: